top of page
  • Writer's pictureTim Allison

Studio 3 Post Mortem

The past 13 weeks have been a rollercoaster of trials and tribulations, but also an amazing learning experience that I feel really progressed me to a professional level. Here's why...



During intense learning periods, it's difficult to take a moment and see how far you've travelled. But just recently I did exactly this and it astounded me. 3 months ago I felt like I finally had the knowledge and capabilities to make professional level audio. Turns out that thinking was a little ambitious. This was the most apparent to me after having to re-mix Angie McMahon's live set. Originally completed a few months ago, I was stoked with the outcome. I thought I had finally learnt how to use a compressor, and an EQ, correctly to get the desired result. In actuality, I had really just learnt the benefit of subtractive EQ, and how to slam the signal to make it louder.


Fast forward to re-mixing Angie recently, and I recognised that my ears are finally capable of picking apart a mix much better. Upon revisiting the mix, I realised that it sounded quite flat, lacking the sparkle of a professional product. This was mostly due to heavy EQ-ing, particularly taking out the top end, made worse by heavy compression. Learning to master really 'opened my ears'. I feel that I can finally hear the artefacts created by poor mixing techniques. Working backwards, this not only makes my mastering better, but my mixing too. For example, if I'm more than likely going to need more air, I may as well add it to the individual elements in the mix, culminating in a better result than if I just high-shelf the stereo WAV file.


So some mastering knowledge has had a huge impact on the way I think about audio. Most importantly, it reinforced the critical listening skills I have been establishing, making all manners of my work better. Critical listening is something that I aim to continue, with great enthusiasm. I would love to have an ear for mastering, be able to tell the difference between which compressors are used, or pull apart a song in great detail. To achieve this I intend to play with online critical listening games, learning to pick apart specific frequencies, and to listen to a wide range of audio constantly.


In addition, surround sound was a great interest of mine over the past 13 weeks. Learning this process has inspired me to create an album length piece of audio and mix it into surround. I hope to team up with a visual artist to create an accompanying visual aspect, and to present it as an installation. As such, I will be investigating surround sound in much more detail, looking creatively into how I can use this application for something a little different; perhaps even attempting a Dolby Atmos style array and mix. There was a great deal more hard skills I gained, from producing vocals, advanced recording techniques, studio etiquette, professional workflow, and many more. Though it was the soft skills I learnt that will lead me through my practice in future. It is interesting to note that these seem to be developed more often than not through failure of some description. This realisation makes me feel much more comfortable about making mistakes or less effective choices, because in the end it is these moments that seem to define what I do moreso than positive reinforcement.


One such learning came about from the A Quiet Place trailer. During the final mixing phases of this task, I found my laptop not capable of running ProTools without glitching. Consequently I tried to save some RAM by committing tracks, perhaps a little to eagerly. As it turned out later in the process, once I made it into SAE to master my mix, I had the chance to hear it on something other than headphones, and was made aware that it wasn't well balanced. However, when I went back through I realised it was too late to correct these individual elements. I tried going back to a previous backup of the session, but it appeared some of the files were now missing (I had to empty my computer a little because the hard-drive was nearing capacity, slowing performance). I then tried to look back through my hard-drive for backups of the sounds, but with files and folders everywhere I was unable to track them down. Essentially, what I learnt simultaneously, was the importance of file management and session management. I intend to avoid this from reoccurring by:

  • Developing a labelling system (eg. filename_WIPMIX for works in progress, _EQ for master, numbers for consecutive sessions and bounces... filename2.1_EQ3.0)

  • Taking the time after every session to go through and label everything appropriately

  • Backing up the files to a well-organised hard-drive daily

  • Saving space by removing unwanted clips in the clip list

  • Separate big projects into smaller components and use stem mixing to combine

  • Use plugins on bus' rather than individual tracks (eg. multiple EQ's with a high-pass)


The most obvious issue that has arisen was the COVID pandemic. This affected the way I worked significantly, and I actually gained a lot out of the experience. Initially, I had to adapt to a new way of working very quickly. I find myself often recharging and regathering my motivation through moments of solitude outside, even if that is as simple as public transport home from SAE. With these moments stripped from me I found it quite difficult to stay motivated. This was made worse by the fact that Zoom meetings became a regular occurrence which, regardless of the fact that I despise virtual communication, resulted in not wanting to be on the computer any longer that day. Consequently I had to find new ways of working, which involved strategies like redistributing my time, doing work in the early mornings, taking more breaks, keeping in constant contact with a diary. All of this though, in hindsight, is probably great practice for future endeavours anyway.


As mentioned, I do dislike virtual communication as it currently stands immensely. So this time has been a great test of adversity for me, pushing myself to maintain my usual work standard in a world I don't feel comfortable in. This process reinforced that I do have a positive attitude and a dedication to audio, as I was able to calmly work with what I was given to a satisfactory industry standard. I do believe the only reason it wasn't beyond satisfactory, was due to COVID.


First and foremost, my work was hindered because of my lack of monitors where I am now stuck. Working solely from headphones is a good experience to learn from, a good technique to get better at, but I have discovered most definitely does not provide the best results. I learnt that my ears fatigue much more quickly with headphones, and I need to give myself much more breaks to combat this.


Most obviously, some of my projects were incomplete due to musicians I was to be recording opting to stay indoors with their family. Consequently, it has taught me to continuously find new ways of progressing a project - even when there's not much to be done. It taught me to maintain contact with clients, building networks and relationships, and ultimately to keep the artists enthusiastic and focussed on the goal.


Finally, upon reflection of my final assets, my masters and surround work were not precisely how I would have liked them. With only two sessions in the S6, it was not enough time to really get my head around everything, experiment with numerous techniques, and find my style. To fix this, I intend to spend as much time as I can in the S6 over the coming months, booking a regular slot in weekly to improve those skills. Maybe then I will be beyond what I consider to be the entry level of industry standard. I'm sure in another 3 months I will be looking back at this moment questioning how I could even consider this work as near industry standard.


I think the biggest take-away from this trimester for me personally is that my environment is conducive to progress, or perhaps a quality environment is conducive to quality work. I need to surround myself with a space that I feel comfortable in, being stuck at home with housemates permanently, or in a foreign house with my girlfriend does not work wonders.


With projects paused, project plans being updated left right and centre, communication flipped on its head, and anxiety all around, it has been a particularly testing 13 weeks. But I believe with some supportive peers in the same boat, a good attitude, and some hard work, I came out the better for it. Using a diary really assisted to keep my head screwed on (not just for remembering what day of the week it is), and continuously updating my project scope and timelines to reflect this change in direction was quite useful. In future I would like to take this a step further by not just recording the timelines and due dates, but setting myself smaller daily goals to complete.


It will be interesting to see how audio roles progress into the future now, but I definitely feel more confident that I'll be able to handle whatever that is. I'll even feel confident with virtual communication and remote work, which for an evolving industry in a world with increasing globalisation is quite comforting. Overall I think it was a successful and enjoyable trimester given the circumstances. I can only imagine how well it would have gone without the plague.


Signing out for maybe one of the last times - on this site at least!


Thanks for the ride.



Stay Tuned

- TA

9 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page